Motorhome Magazine Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Windows 10 Desktop ??
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Windows 10 Desktop ??

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
DutchmenSport

Between Anderson, Pendleton, & Lapel, Indiana

Senior Member

Joined: 10/10/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 01/09/18 01:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Try this and see if it help.

Right mouse click on your desktop (not on any icons), Opens a dialogue box. Select "Display Settings" (second from the bottom).

On the "Display" window, change the "Scale and layout" ... Change the size of text apps, and other items ... from 100% to something else.

Close and reboot. See if that helps.

If it does, then repeat by putting it back on 100 percent (although I like the 125 percent setting better, it's easier on the eyes). Try it, see if that helps. If not, you've not lost anything.

Make sure the "View" (right click on desktop) does not have "Arrange icons to Grid" or "Auto arrange icons" checked too.


DutchmenSport

2013 Outback 298RE
2014 Chevy Silverado 3500 Duramax Dually
1400 / 14000 Equal-i-zer Weight Distribution
2 Dachshunds, 1 cat, 2 old folks and lots of love!


wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 02:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

Windows doesn't move icons on it's own - why would it, what would that accomplish?

Either someone else using the computer is messing with you, or you have some sort of weird malware that is moving your icons - maybe some sort of remote control exploit.


Every version of Windows I've used has moved them around, usually when the screen resolution changed or glitched. It's worse on laptops when the docking station monitors are a different resolution than the laptop screen.

I've always wanted a native "restore icons" or a icon profile per resolution but Windows never provided one.

LittleBill

Scranton, PA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/29/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 04:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

look for a program called desktop restore, greatest program ever





wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 04:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’ve found I can do 95% of what I need on a daily basis on my iPhone 8 Plus or my iPad Pro. I have moved just about everything off my Windows Surface, and if I can do my taxes online instead of Windows based software I’ll be off it totally. The main item holding me back was I used a good bit of Excel files but I have migrated them to IOS Numbers or quit using the ones that wouldn’t convert. After some 30+ years of Windows it takes some rethinking of not only how to do something or do I really need to do the way I was. But an old dog can learn new things.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004

beachcomber_1

Alton, Illinois

Senior Member

Joined: 07/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/13/18 09:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have 3 laptops and 2 desktops that have been upgraded to windows 10 , no problems. range from 12 to 1 year old. Some antivirus programs can slow upgrades and patches to a crawl.





drsteve

Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2006

View Profile


Online
Posted: 01/14/18 10:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Right click the desktop, and select Display Settings. Click Display. Under Scale and Layout, make sure size of text, apps, etc is set to 100%. If you use a higher setting so your icons will be larger--like I do--you'll just have to get used to Windows re-arranging your icons.


2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

AsheGuy

Raleigh, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 11/15/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/14/18 01:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have three PCs/laptops running Windows 10 (latest version) and have never experienced desktop icons being moved. I agree with others that suggest something other than Windows is involved.

I also agree that switching to Apple just moves one into a more restrictive and costly environment.

I found the solution is using Microsoft only as an application platform and using other sources for all applications. There are numerous alternatives to the various Microsoft apps and most of them are free.

To poster the that is tied to Windows for taxes, I switched from Turbotax to Credit Karma last year and it worked fine. It's free and detached from any dependence on Windows. I have seen the usual worries that it exposes one's data but so does Turbotax, or your local tax preparation service.


David & Margaret - 2005 LTV 210B 3S
- Our Blog -



joebedford

Mesa, AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 09/03/2003

View Profile



Posted: 01/14/18 02:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The only problem I've had with W10 is when I recently installed the latest version of Quicken, the icon on the taskbar changed from the "Q" to a blank rectangle and I can't figure out how to restore it. (I'm not going to reinstall Quicken just for that).

sherlock62

-

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/14/18 03:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joebedford wrote:

The only problem I've had with W10 is when I recently installed the latest version of Quicken, the icon on the taskbar changed from the "Q" to a blank rectangle and I can't figure out how to restore it. (I'm not going to reinstall Quicken just for that).


Joe, Go to the folder named "Program Files x86" In that folder look for a folder named "Quicken". In the Quicken folder look for a file named "qw". You will see it has a red "Q" icon. Right mouse click on that qw and click on "Pin to Start". That will give you the Quicken program icon/tile in Start. Now, you can right mouse click that icon/tile in Start,then click on more and the select add to task bar. This will give you the Quicken program icon on your task bar. Do delete the "blank icon" you mentioned on the task bar.

Another way to get you task bar icon, is to go to Start, "All Apps" and look for Quicken. Click on the Quicken folder and then right mouse click on the Quicken icon and select pin to task bar / pin to start.

joebedford

Mesa, AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 09/03/2003

View Profile



Posted: 01/14/18 10:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks sherlock62. I had to unpin the white rectangle first but then re pin worked perfectly.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Windows 10 Desktop ??
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS