Trailer Life Magazine Open Roads Forum: 30 AMP Connection at home
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > 30 AMP Connection at home

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next
Sponsored By:
Colorado #5

Minnesota

New Member

Joined: 01/29/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 03:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The owner's manual says that you need a 30amp connection in order to run the AC.

Does this mean I would need to wire my house with a 30amp receptacle in order to operate the AC while prepping and loading the coach?

mikim

Rancho Cucamonga, CA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2003

View Profile






Posted: 02/07/18 03:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

To run the A/C and not do damage to it, yes put in a 30amp outlet near the RV.





ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 03:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A 20A, as most garages have, will power AC fine.
Even 15A will do fine as long as there aren't other loads or a voltage drop.
If you have anything less than a 30A, monitor the voltage.


Scott, Grace and Wesly
2003 Dodge 3500 4x4, 6 speed Cummins (lightly bombed),
2018 Silver Fox 32A - many mods to come!
H0NDA eu2000i

BB_TX

McKinney, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 04/04/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 03:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can run my 15k A/C on a 20 amp circuit with no problem as long as I don’t run much else. It will trip a 15 amp circuit. If you only want to run it for a short period, an existing 20 amp outlet (if you have one available) should be ok.

Colorado #5

Minnesota

New Member

Joined: 01/29/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 03:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks guys.

jerryjay11

Dover

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2014

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/07/18 03:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No it does not hurt the AC or your camper. It will limit what else you use on that same circuit so expect the CB to trip during heavy load starts. I had in the past ran my AC in our camper from a standard 20 amp circuit for several years before installing a 30 camper outlet last year. I'd forget about it and load up the same circuit with my table saw when the CB would trip. Just don't use an extension cord unless it is the same size wiring as the camper. I've used a 100 foot extension I made up and had no problem where I couldn't get closer to the outlet when visiting my brother.

If you want to use it for any length of time other than prep you'd be better off adding a 120 volt, 30 amp circuit with out door outlet.

STBRetired

I-80 and I-55

Senior Member

Joined: 11/23/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 03:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Before I put in my 50A receptacle, I would run one of my 13.5K A/C units on a 20A circuit. I needed to use a 10GA extension cord to avoid excessive voltage drop.


1999 Newmar MACA 3796 F53 6.8L
2016 Ford Edge Sport
Roadmaster Sterling A/T with Brake Buddy


time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/07/18 04:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just be sure it is only 120 volts. Fairly common for an electrician or a buddy to wire this outlet (NEMA 30-TT) with 240 volts. Single breaker with single hot, neutral, ground.

Measure voltage before you plug in. Have the electrician show you on his meter.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 04:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Colorado #5 wrote:

The owner's manual says that you need a 30amp connection in order to run the AC.

Does this mean I would need to wire my house with a 30amp receptacle in order to operate the AC while prepping and loading the coach?


well, the AC draws at most 13A, so running on a 20A breaker is fine. 15A, pushing the limit. myself and many many others have run the AC on 20A breakers either at home or in a park with only 20A circuits.

Now, if you also want to run other accy in the trailer as well, then you may need a 30A circuit.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


InspectorMark

Michigan

Full Member

Joined: 07/14/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/07/18 04:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you want to run your ac off a 20amp circuit you better have the shortest, highest amp extension cord possible. Best would be to plug your camper plug directly into a garage plug with the proper adapter.


Mark Mustola
Linden, Michigan

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > 30 AMP Connection at home
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS