Trailer Life Magazine Open Roads Forum: Revmax 68RFE Transmission Cooler Thermostatic Bypass
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Revmax 68RFE Transmission Cooler Thermostatic Bypass

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
ShinerBock

SATX

View Profile

Posted: 04/26/19 10:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My re-builder recommended this upgrade when I had my custom trans built. I have been running it for several months now and finally had a chance to tow with it in. All I can say is wow. This is a must have mod for those who tow with their 68RFE even with a completely stock truck if you are seeing high trans temps.

Those that own a 68RFE know that it is notorious for running hotter than most other transmissions. I used to think that it was due to design until I replaced my thermostatic bypass valve with this Revmax one which is advertised to improve flow to the cooler by over 80% and decreases trans temps by as much as 50F. I can attest that it decreased the temps by as much as 30F empty and 20F towing in my truck.

The stock one purposely reduced flow to the cooler in order get the trans temps hotter quicker in colder weather. The problem is that many times it gets stuck or partially stuck in this closed position causing temps to spike inside the trans. Not only that, but the stock valve itself is a very restrictive bottleneck. My re-builder started recommending these bypass valves after seeing several of them fail causing the transmission to fail.

68RFE Transmission Cooler Thermostatic Bypass Upgrade

* This post was last edited 04/26/19 12:49pm by ShinerBock *   View edit history

IdaD

Idaho

View Profile