Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Cant hook up a whole house generator
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Around the Campfire

Open Roads Forum  >  Around the Campfire  >  General Topics

 > Cant hook up a whole house generator

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Lynnmor

Red Lion

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/05/19 07:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

way2roll wrote:



Yes I am certain. Good friend is an electrician and a building inspector. He looked at it and confirmed in order to shut off the power to the house you'd have to pull the meter. He can't speak to code though as he's not in NC. In MD this would fail.


Again, I would want to know what the irresponsible electric company was thinking when they plugged in a meter, firing up God knows what, without a switch. I would call them and ask about the inspection and connection procedures.





way2roll

Wilmington NC

Senior Member

Joined: 10/05/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/05/19 09:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I plan to. Something I never noticed until this came up.

* This post was edited 09/05/19 09:48am by an administrator/moderator *


2020 F350 STX
2020 FR Cedar Ridge Silverback 29rw

troubledwaters

Potomac

Senior Member

Joined: 02/17/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 05:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You can call everyone you like, it ain't going to solve your problem; it'll just add to your frustration. The only call you need to make is to an electrician to install a main disconnect switch and transfer switch. This is not rocket science.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/06/19 07:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe so, but if you don't call you'll never know.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

NJRVer

NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 05/16/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 01:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

troubledwaters wrote:

You can call everyone you like, it ain't going to solve your problem; it'll just add to your frustration. The only call you need to make is to an electrician to install a main disconnect switch and transfer switch. This is not rocket science.



Except if you don't call the state and just call an electrician, then automatically you pay for the fix out of your pocket.

The example I posted above, and the state had to pay to correct all the violations in the development.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/06/19 03:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

And phone calls are cheap.

* This post was edited 09/06/19 04:23pm by an administrator/moderator *

bucky

Raleigh metro

Senior Member

Joined: 05/07/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 05:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

NC isn't NJ and the OP stated that the builder had vamoosed. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and move on.


2005 Cummins 3500 2WD LB quad cab dually pulling a 2014 Blue Ridge 3025RL


way2roll

Wilmington NC

Senior Member

Joined: 10/05/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 06:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The builder may have left but the electrician is still around and they are bonded and the county should be able to answer questions as to why it passed inspections. If they can't answer that and agree it's wrong, I feel like the electrician can be made to fix it. We've been a little taxed with the hurricane but I expect to be able to call them on Monday.

bucky

Raleigh metro

Senior Member

Joined: 05/07/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/08/19 05:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I hope it all works out and that any damage was minimal.

atreis

IN

Senior Member

Joined: 08/29/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/08/19 06:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you're planning to sell and move in two years ... Just live without the backup generator for two years .......... Doesn't seem to me like it'd be worth it for such a short time.

Working on getting the electrical fixed in the meantime would still be worthwhile though, as no doubt whoever looks to buy it will have a home inspection done and that will turn up the electrical irregularities.


2016 AmeriLite SuperLite 198BH
2008 Toyota Sienna
Hensley Cub


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Around the Campfire  >  General Topics

 > Cant hook up a whole house generator
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Around the Campfire


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.