Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Thermostats
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Thermostats

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
salmonseaker

Washington

New Member

Joined: 12/16/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/16/19 09:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am trying to rig up a programmable 7 day t-stat to be able to have my heater turn on before I get home from work.


I have a duo Therm Comfort Control t-stat in my 5th Wheel. I have 4-wires.

Red= +12 volts

Black=

Green=

Yellow=


I found that I have 12 volts between the red and the green. I touched those together and blew out a fuse in the overhead A/C. After replacing it, I measured +12 volts between them. After trying to touch the +12 volts to the black or the yellow wire I could not get any response from a/c or heater. I am guessing this is a totally different system than a house type system. Since I can not find a programmable stat to replace it with, so I was wondering if could have a programmable battery run the Duo Therm, by making and breaking the +12vt supply? I could set up the Duo Therm for 70 degrees and then make and break the + 12 volt supply to the Duo Therm. Does anyone think this is feasible? Will the Duo Therm hold its temperature after power is removed and restored?

Flute Man

Payson, Arizona

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/19 06:18am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Probably not possible. Because 12 V touch those other two data wire lines you might’ve taken out the board on top.As far as it retaining its memory if 12 V is removed you might just have to experiment and find out.

Remove the 12 volt line. Then reconnect and see if it retained it’s memory.

* This post was edited 12/17/19 08:14pm by Flute Man *


Jerry Parr
05 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350
04 Honda CR-V
Ham Radio K7OU
Retired EE
[email protected]
602-321-8141
Full-timer

cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/17/19 06:49am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

you don't experiment with A/C systems. You go to Youtube and learn how to tom it right.


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 12/17/19 09:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The easiest way would be just install a new, separate thermostat for the furnace, running new the stat wires from the furnace itself. Keep the Comfort Control for the air conditioner.


-- Chris Bryant

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Thermostats
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.