Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: NEED ASSISTANCE... ATWOOD AFMD FURNACE
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > NEED ASSISTANCE... ATWOOD AFMD FURNACE

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
VilleDeal

Whitney Texas

New Member

Joined: 01/20/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/20/20 09:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 2018 class A gas unit with an Atwood afm series furnace. My problem is that it was sooting up and smelling, even to the point of sounding off the CO alarm. I thought I had a dirt dauber problem maybe so I took the unit completely apart and flushed the heat tubes. I was wrong and that is not the issue. Ran a snake from stem to stern through it and got nothing at all. Flushed it with water also and got nothing but good flow. Here where my plot thickens. Not only have I not found the original problem, but now have another one. After putting it all back together, I now have a problem with nothing at all happening when turning the heater on. I checked the wiring diagram and see not issue, however it is possible that I am overlooking something. When we first put it back together I got a single flash light on the circuit board which pointed to the limit switch. Now though, after swapping out a couple of wires that were put in the wrong place initially, I get nothing. Any ideas? Could the limit switch getting wet during the flush, could it be stuck open not allowing the circuit to be complete upon startup. ALSO, could someone send a picture of their circuit board just to make sure the wiring is correct?

Flute Man

Payson, Arizona

Full Member

Joined: 03/21/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/21/20 02:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Did you verify with a meter that you have a good 12 V going to the board.
Also with the meter you can ohm out the switches to see if they are working properly.
Did you take a picture of the board or make a diagram of the board connections before you took it apart?


Jerry Parr
05 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350
04 Honda CR-V
Ham Radio K7OU
Retired EE
[email protected]
602-321-8141
Full-timer

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/21/20 09:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here is manual that should help.Manual
I would blow the furnace compartment out good with compressed air, compressor or can will work.
Have you tested the thermostat? At furnace connect the two blue wires on terminal block. Furnace fan should start immediately. In 15-20 seconds burner should kick in. separating the two blue wires the furnace should go into cool down mode and then shut off.
If no operation, Check the circuit breaker to insure it is energized. This is mounted on motor housing.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


VilleDeal

Whitney Texas

New Member

Joined: 01/20/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/21/20 04:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I sure wish now I had taken pictures but didn't. I do have 12 volts at the board. I didn't know if it would hurt to jump the circuit breaker, sail switch and the limit switch, not at the same time but one at a time? I will test the thermostat like one of you said next.
Thanks again.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/21/20 04:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It would not hurt to jumper circuit breaker for testing only! You could take test with voltmeter. One lead to ground, other lead to each side of breaker terminals. You should have 12 volts one each side.

midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/21/20 07:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I,d STOP right now. your not sure of the wiring. you could damage other things by just flipping wires.

opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/21/20 10:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

Here is manual that should help.Manual
I would blow the furnace compartment out good with compressed air, compressor or can will work.
Have you tested the thermostat? At furnace connect the two blue wires on terminal block. Furnace fan should start immediately. In 15-20 seconds burner should kick in. separating the two blue wires the furnace should go into cool down mode and then shut off.
If no operation, Check the circuit breaker to insure it is energized. This is mounted on motor housing.


Have you figured it out yet? The manual that enblethen linked has a wiring diagram.


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

VilleDeal

Whitney Texas

New Member

Joined: 01/20/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/22/20 09:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am going to go look at it today. My rig is not parked nearby so I have to go a ways to get to it. I do have the wiring diagram in my owner's book. I am relatively sure now the wiring is correct. I will start by tying the two blue wires of the thermostat to make sure it is not the problem with it now doing nothing at all when the heat switch is turned on at the thermostat.

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/22/20 12:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There are 3 wires and a multiwire quick connect on the Circuit board
1 wire is the spark ignitor wire and is distinctive from the piezo tower to the burner
the other 2 wires are for the Fan Motor relay and the spade terminals are different sizes and CANNOT be attached wrong
the multi quick connect only fits one way.
So, your Circuit board is connected correctly.

VilleDeal

Whitney Texas

New Member

Joined: 01/20/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/22/20 06:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I'm confident that the wiring is correct now per the wiring diagram.
Tied the two blue thermostat wires together and still got nothing at all at last check.
I took the reset/off switch to check it and the resistance of the limit switch while I am at it.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > NEED ASSISTANCE... ATWOOD AFMD FURNACE
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.