Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Hot Spot
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Hot Spot

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Horsedoc

Dixie --- N. Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 09/30/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 09:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

In the past, I have used my cell phone as a hot spot while we traveled. The last couple of times I could not make the computer see the iPhone. I could get the computer to 'show available networks' but could not get a connection. On the other side, the iPhone did not seem to be connecting telling me did not have wifi. We were in a Ga state park with no wifi.
Obviously I am lacking something here. Perhaps it is enough savvy to do something I am not seeing. help?

Big Katuna

Deland, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 12/27/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 09:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’ve often had to play games to get some devices connected.
Like going into settings and turning wifi off then back on. Rebooting the laptop, etc.

Esp. after it’s been sitting idle.


My Kharma ran over my Dogma.

2oldman

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 09:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Rebooting things is what usually works.

MarkTwain

Northern, Ca. , USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/26/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 10:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Big Katuna wrote:

I’ve often had to play games to get some devices connected.
Like going into settings and turning wifi off then back on. Rebooting the laptop, etc.

Esp. after it’s been sitting idle.


Ditto! Ditto! I also called my service carrier and up graded my data plan. Part of issue can be related to with your location from the nearest signal tower.

Lwiddis

Owens River Road, California

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 10:49am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

X2 on Mark’s post.


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)


DarkSkySeeker

Freestone, California

Senior Member

Joined: 10/13/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 10:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You're probably way beyond this, but you did not mention that you actually turn the phone setting to "on" as a hotspot. Do you do that?


There is something special about camping in an RV.
.


K Charles

Connecticut

Senior Member

Joined: 03/06/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 12:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My hot spot won't work if the Wi-Fi is on.





opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 12:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You might try calling your cellular carrier. It could be the plan you are on has a restriction of some kind. Or maybe Apple has made a change on the phone that is causing a problem. Either way your cell providers tech support line should be able to figure it out.


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 04:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ok this is from "other sources" There is a reason I don't have an I(incompatable) phone... This is not it (the reason is older than the phone)

Open the phone hotspot. Turn it OFF. Open the Computer's wi-fi connection tool. Turn on the Hotspot and then tell the computer to search. You have a short time I think 5 minutes) to connect.. then the phone goes "Dark".


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


MarkTwain

Northern, Ca. , USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/26/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/05/20 05:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

opnspaces wrote:

You might try calling your cellular carrier. It could be the plan you are on has a restriction of some kind. Or maybe Apple has made a change on the phone that is causing a problem. Either way your cell providers tech support line should be able to figure it out.


My cell provider (AT&T) informed me that the data base plan I had would have down load restrictions after I reached my current data plan limits. I would have to upgrade my plan to get faster speed and avoid problems with using hot spot connections.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Hot Spot
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.