Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Directv getting channel loss 771 but not really
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Directv getting channel loss 771 but not really

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Carl n Susan

Carmichael, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/19/20 10:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mikestock wrote:

...There has been no interruption of signal, just the banner along the bottom of the screen....

If the picture keeps coming through despite the 771, could it be another channel you are recording such as a local that you are out of the spot beam for? That is the usual cause when I see the 771 (unless there is a thunderstorm in the way).

dapperdan

Milwaukee

Senior Member

Joined: 11/13/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/19/20 10:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We experienced somehing similar a couple of years ago. We were getting the dreaded "771 loss of signal" message too even in clear weather and we have NO trees to obstruct. Long story short, what it turned out to be was our satellite dish (over the years) had been bumped or whatever and was out of alignment! We had a Direct serviceman out to check things out, he replaced our LNB (even though he didn't really think that was it) and re-tuned the dish. NO more "771" messages since!

It's hard to say what's going on in your situation but this is what ours turned out to be. Good luck!!

Dan





Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/19/20 04:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

All satellites have a bit of a wobble. I saw the message the other day, repointed the Trav'ler but still saw the message from time to time. Nothing has changed but the message is gone. It could well have been something related to the satellite or the upload between the ground and the satellite. Bad weather in Gaithersburg, MD (if they are still there) can degrade the overall signal.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 04/23/20 08:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I still get the 771. I've tried moving my three coax connections around on my two 8 way splitters. I need the two splitters because my three DVR's need 9 lines. Nothing seems to help.

My signals are all in the 90's except for 99 Ca which stays in the low 80's. No transponders in the 70's.

I've operated, when traveling, with transponders in the 70's but this never caused any problem. I've checked signal strength many times during this 771 situation and never seen anything that would cause this.

I finally got through to DirecTV on the phone and have a guy coming tomorrow. I will not be surprised if the LNB is the problem. If I had a spare legacy LNB I would have already tried it.

edatlanta

Jennings Ferry Campground-Camp Host, Akron, AL

Senior Member

Joined: 08/13/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/20 05:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have been using the same Slimline dish/LNB on a heavy duty tripod for 9+ years full time. The dish has been through a lot and set up I have no clue how many times. My tripod is weighted with a 5 gallon bucket of water so 40 pounds plus the weight of the bucket. Last week we had a sudden thunderstorm that hit with estimated 50-60 mph straight line winds and blew the tripod over and of course it landed right on the LNB. I put it back up and started aiming. All sats were mid to high 90's except 99ca. I could not get it above 82-84 until I realized the LNB arm was not only bent but it would move up and down about 1/4" and all of it's mounting bolts were tight. It seems the arm mount location on the dish was bent a bit also. Soooo, I grabbed my backup dish that I have been hoarding for a number of years and put it in service with my original LNB. Now all is well again with all sats above 95.

Why did the wind have to hit my dish from the back so it would fall on the arm? That black cloud, literally, was following me around again.

Did I try to call DirecTV for assistance? Didn't waste my time.


Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS,Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP
Fulltime since 2010


mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 04/25/20 07:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The DirecTV tech came yesterday.

I had a system that used a legacy LNB, ran all 4 coaxes to a box mounted outside. From this box, the two Coax ran inside to 2-8 way SWM splitters. The system wes powered by a 28 volt PI. At the time, I had a Genie. three DVR's and a receiver, all requiring 12 lines. One of the 103 connectors was badly corroded and barely making up.

The tech said that was all outdated. He removed the LNB and replaced it with a SWM LNB. Now I have 9 lines running off one SWM LNB, still powered by the 28 volt PI. which I thought wouldn't work, before, but it is working fine. Don't know what's changed to allow 9 lines to work off one splitter.

* This post was edited 04/25/20 06:02pm by mikestock *

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/26/20 07:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The standard SWM LNB can only handle 8 tuners. Maybe he installed a SWM16 LNB.

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 04/27/20 08:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

The standard SWM LNB can only handle 8 tuners. Maybe he installed a SWM16 LNB.


He did install a 3D2LNB, which supposedly supports up to 16 lines and we have a 28 volt PI. I still get an occasional 775 on my Genie. As a last resort, I will change one of my DVR's from "dual" to "single" if the 775 continues to be an issue. I would prefer doing this to having another tech come, during our quarantine. My wife has several of the high-risk conditions.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Directv getting channel loss 771 but not really
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.