Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: damon astoria inverter question
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > damon astoria inverter question

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
btilfan

springfield NE

Senior Member

Joined: 05/25/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 07:03am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I just took delivery of a 2007 damon astoria pacifica. the manual says that the inverter is active for all ac outlets in the coach, after testing with a small lamp the only active outlets I can tell are the bedroom TV and front TV. It also says the battery management system will shut down circuits as voltage needs change. Is there something I'm missing here? be kind, I'm electrically challenged.


2007 Damon Astoria Pacifica
My next hobby.


jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 07:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You may have a tripped GFI outlet somewhere.

jy

south east mich.

Senior Member

Joined: 01/17/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 07:33am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Do you have a full size residental refrigerator,and what size is the inverter(in watts)


2016 wildwood bunkhouse,2018 f150 5.0.Camping with the grandkids now.

btilfan

springfield NE

Senior Member

Joined: 05/25/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 08:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jy wrote:

Do you have a full size residental refrigerator,and what size is the inverter(in watts)

xantrex pro xm1800
I do not have a residential fridge. GFI's are good.

Executive

California/Arizona/South Dakota

Senior Member

Joined: 02/07/2008

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 08:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My inverter only powers certain outlets. I've not heard of a system that powers all A/C outlets. IMO, that wouldn't make much sense. An inverter should be for 'essential services'...(see how I worked that in? welcome to the 2020 'new normal'.[emoticon]) Otherwise there's too great a strain on the battery bank....Dennis


A Simple Act of Caring Creates an Endless Ripple
Dennis and Debi Eleven Years Full Timing
Monaco Executive M-45PBQ Quad Slide
525HP Cummins ISM 6 Spd Allison
2014 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ W/ ReadyBrute
CLICK HERE TO VIEW OUR TRAVEL BLOG



DC&MC

formerly of Keizer Oregon USA

Senior Member

Joined: 10/23/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/06/20 09:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We had an Astoria in 06 but I can’t remember how many outlets ran off the inverter. The coach we have now only had one out that doesn’t run on inverter. Every other one does.
Sorry I can’t be of more help


2006 Mandalay 40E motorcoach
2011 Ram PU
2012 Victory Cross Country mtc
From wherever we happen to be

2oldman

Mecca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 11:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Executive wrote:

I've not heard of a system that powers all A/C outlets. IMO, that wouldn't make much sense.
My DIY does. Makes a lot of sense.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/06/20 04:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think you may be missing a word "Optional"
Now I do not know the Astoria but I do know there are SOME RV's that come with 2 or 3 thousand watts of Tripp LIte or somethign like it. and yes it runs all outlets save the Fridge and may even run it (depending on assorted things Does if it's a residential fridge) The inverter is in the compartment NEXT to the batteries (house batts that is) and check for a tripped breaker Short story about that.

Some have only selected outlets My Intruder after market 2KW (2000 watt) has only selected outlets plus I did a mod so it some are "optional" (normally line powered)

Some have like 250-500 watt range and only the TV's and perhaps ONE outlet (Front, Right, Floor) on the TV breaker)

Yours I don't know

Story
Friend came to me his new next door had a complaint half the outlets were dead including the TV, as we walked back I ask about an inverter (he did not know) 2nd try we found it (next to batteries) reset the clearly tripped breaker and he went inside. Wife says "Does he think he can help" Husband says "He's already fixed it". and so I had.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/07/20 06:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

you may find some more help here. https://www.thorforums.com/forums/
Damon is built by Thor industries.


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > damon astoria inverter question
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.