Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Fifth-Wheels: Ditching Dometic Thermostat?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Ditching Dometic Thermostat?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/09/20 03:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?
Not if it is digital.

Post the model number or a picture.


Why not? I have replaced 2 analogs with digitalis in two trailers


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

djousma

SW Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/09/20 05:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?


These thermostats are fine. I have the same ones, and had the same problems and frustrations as you. The problem I suspect with yours is that they had a bad batch of the touch screens causing the erratic behavior. Call Dometic customer service, describe the problem, and they will send you replacement face plates for free.

Since I have done that, the problem has completely gone away.


Dave
2016 F350 Lariat 4x4 FX4 SRW CC SB 6.7 Magnetic Metallic
2017 Forest River Cardinal 3850RL


sayoung

Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/09/20 06:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cavie wrote:

time2roll wrote:

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?
Not if it is digital.

Post the model number or a picture.


Why not? I have replaced 2 analogs with digitalis in two trailers

One more time. The newer Dometic thermostat " talks " to the AC/furnace with a digital signal. The thermostat doesn't send the power directly to the fan relay & compressor contactor .

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/09/20 10:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cavie wrote:

time2roll wrote:

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?
Not if it is digital.

Post the model number or a picture.
Why not? I have replaced 2 analogs with digitalis in two trailers
The wiring and communication is different on the new units.

cavie, Did your thermostat look like this?

[image]
These old and obsolete thermostats can be easily converted to a home unit.

When I say "digital" I mean the communication with the control box... not the LCD display.

* This post was edited 07/09/20 02:09pm by time2roll *


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Super_Dave

Harrisville, UT

Senior Member

Joined: 01/19/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/09/20 02:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So, per my picture, what do I have?


Truck: 2006 Dodge 3500 Dually
Rig: 2018 Big Country 3155 RLK
Boat: 21' North River Seahawk


Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 07/09/20 02:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yours cannot be replaced without replacing the control box.


-- Chris Bryant

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/09/20 02:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Chris Bryant wrote:

Yours cannot be replaced without replacing the control box.
Is there a source to buy the old analog control box?

justme

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/27/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/10/20 01:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?
Just curious why you think it is a POS. Could you clarify?

Super_Dave

Harrisville, UT

Senior Member

Joined: 01/19/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/10/20 03:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Justme, my living room thermostat is on the wall in my stairway to the bedroom. It gets bumped all the time and goes to a blank screen or switches to Celsius. Additionally, the air conditioner will run and time itself out before bringing temperature down to set temp. It requires turning the thermostat off for a minute and turning it back on to get it to continue running.

wvcampers

United States

Senior Member

Joined: 09/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/10/20 08:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mine was doing the same as the OP. They will work great without the cover/touch pad. I called Dometic and explained what was happening and they sent me 2 whole thermostats. They are working like they should. They did have some bad ones. Give them a call.


2017 F350 6.7 CC Lariat DRW
2018 Cardinal Luxury Edition 3250 RLX

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Ditching Dometic Thermostat?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.