Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Parking on area with dirt/grass stability
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> Parking on area with dirt/grass stability

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Nanidh12

El Cajon

View Profile

Posted: 08/04/20 10:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello, all. I am new to this whole trailer thing, and I have a travel trailer I have on grass/dirt area. Yesterday when we leveled it it was level, but this morning it seemed to become out of level.

It was very foggy in the morning with a lot of condesation, so I am worried that the dirt and grass is becoming moist, and is changing the ground stability.

Does any one have any recommendations of how I can make it more steady?

This is the only location where the trailer fits.

Thanks!

schlep1967

Harrisburg, PA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 08/04/20 11:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Put boards under the jacks and tires to spread the weight over a larger area. It is normal to get some settling. After a few adjustments it should stop moving. Unless of course you are on a recently filled in area. Then it could keep moving for a while

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel
2009 Open Range 385RLS
Pull-Rite Super Glide

Dick_B

Palos Heights, IL USA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 08/04/20 11:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

and no matter what you put under the stabilizers there will be movement inside the trailer when on every surface but concrete; not terrible but can be distracting when someone is moving around the trailer while you are trying to sleep.

Dick_B
2003 SunnyBrook 27FKS
2011 3/4 T Chevrolet Suburban