Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: favorite tow vehicle for small trailer??
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> favorite tow vehicle for small trailer??

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
albireo13

NH

View Profile

Posted: 10/19/20 08:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,
Newbie here.
Wife and I are looking into a small trailer (Aliner, Scamp, teardrop, etc) for maybe next year. We want something small so we can tow it with a car/SUV.
I am thinking <3500lb total weight.

My current car is a 2009 Pilot which is very long in the tooth. I relly need a new car so, I am shopping for that first. It will also be my daily drive car so, gas mileage is important, as is driving comfort. It will also be our tow vehicle in the future. I'd prefer a crossover or compact SUV or something like that.

My Pilot is chunky and gas mileage isn't great (< 20mpg highway, towing nothing). Plus, it has blind spots which bother me. I want to replace it soon. Budget is <$35K so high end vehicles are out of the picture.

Some cars I am considering:
Subaru Outback
Honda Passport
Toyota Highlander

I was wondering what folks use (and like) for towing their small trailers.
Whatcha got??

just me

ShinerBock

SATX

View Profile

Posted: 10/19/20 08:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A tow vehicle with an engine that has turbos(either diesel or gas) will give you a significantly better tow experience than most naturally aspirated engines in this class. Especially if you are planning to tow in higher elevation or over mountain passes.

p220sigman

Tallahassee, FL, USA

View Profile

Posted: 10/19/20 09:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator