Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Any software devs, working from their RV?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Full-time RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Full-time RVing

> Any software devs, working from their RV?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
paries

utah

View Profile

Posted: 03/03/21 09:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello,
I am a software dev, and looking at doing the fulltime RV thing.

I have a lot of questions.

Is this is a possible thing with the current mobile internet offerings. (PLEASE Starlink hurry)

So with my current work flow, i need to remotely connect to databases and AWS , and linux servers

Is anyone on this list doing something like this in their RV?

What has been your experience. Is this possible? What equipment are you using?

Thanks for any help/Information

Second Chance

Wherever...

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/03/21 10:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Research here:

RVMobileInternet.com

They are the gurus.

Rob

U.S. Army retired
2020 Solitude 310GK-R
MORryde IS, disc brakes, solar, DP windows
(Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
2012 F350 CC DRW Lariat 6.7
Full-time since 8/2015

paries

utah

View Profile

Posted: 03/03/21 10:25am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Rob, thanks

gkainz

Arvada, CO, USA

View Profile

Posted: 03/03/21 10:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since I'm pretty much the sole Oracle DBA for my group, I've been doing this for years and my vacations in the RV always ended up being working vacations. Sometimes an "urgent request" might have to wait until the fish aren't biting and I make it back to shore again, but they know that.