Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tow Vehicles: Stupid TPMS!!
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

 > Stupid TPMS!!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 09:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The new GM 1500s must have a lower threshold now! Just rotated the tires on my 2020 1500 Chebbie and set the rears (which are still reading front position and may be the issue but requires a re-learn tool to change) to 32psi cold. Truck is a pavement princess that is mostly driven empty, no load.
My old 2016, I recall didn't trip the low pressure light until > 25psi. I know I could air down for winter driving to under 30psi without getting the light.
At night pressure dropped to 31 psi...BAM, tire light. Up to 34-35psi on the highway, no luck, didn't disappear.
Owners manual, doesn't appear to show the threshold values nor if they're different front to rear.
Oh well, starting to get used to the tire light since the thresholds have been too high on trucks since the whole tpms mandate began.
Just venting...


2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29

Admin

Channel Islands Harbor, Ca.

Administrator

Joined: 06/20/2000

View Profile



Posted: 08/18/21 10:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Go back to the tire place, they should have reset the tires to the new position.
I had the same reset problem but luckily caught it before driving off.

Admin

Groover

Pulaski, TN

Senior Member

Joined: 10/17/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 11:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a friend who had her tires rotated at the Chevy dealer who also neglected to reprogram the tire locations. A few weeks later the system told her that she had a flat (which she did) but she couldn't find it because it told it to look at the wrong tire. The dealer must have also over-tightened the lug nuts because we destroyed the factory lug wrench getting nuts off. Or maybe the lug wrench was just a piece of garbage. Or both.

It seems that my 2016 F150 knows which tire is where because the display follows the tires when I rotate them. And I know that I haven't reset anything.

IdaD

Idaho

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2014

View Profile



Posted: 08/18/21 12:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Groover wrote:

It seems that my 2016 F150 knows which tire is where because the display follows the tires when I rotate them. And I know that I haven't reset anything.


Same on my Ram. Only problem with it is I get the idiot light all winter because I drop my rear tires to around 60. Suffering a quarter inch idiot light and a warning ding at startup isn't the end of the world, though.


2015 Cummins Ram 4wd CC/SB


Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 12:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Groover wrote:

I have a friend who had her tires rotated at the Chevy dealer who also neglected to reprogram the tire locations. A few weeks later the system told her that she had a flat (which she did) but she couldn't find it because it told it to look at the wrong tire. The dealer must have also over-tightened the lug nuts because we destroyed the factory lug wrench getting nuts off. Or maybe the lug wrench was just a piece of garbage. Or both.

It seems that my 2016 F150 knows which tire is where because the display follows the tires when I rotate them. And I know that I haven't reset anything.


Yeah ford and Chrysler are good like that. GMs apparently don’t have the technology yet….

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 12:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Admin wrote:

Go back to the tire place, they should have reset the tires to the new position.
I had the same reset problem but luckily caught it before driving off.

Admin


Except I was the tire place in this scenario. Much quicker than taking it in for a rotation.
And I don’t care personally if I know which one is where. Only 4 to keep track of.
But I do wonder if they have different thresholds F and R. Probably not on a half ton.
Not interested in the time to make it a science project to find out either.

noteven

Turtle Island

Senior Member

Joined: 02/13/2011

View Profile



Posted: 08/18/21 01:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

On my old 2012 Ford 3 fitty I had the tire shop adjust the threshold to 30 psi on the rear. I run 32-35 on the rear when bob tail

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 03:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

noteven wrote:

On my old 2012 Ford 3 fitty I had the tire shop adjust the threshold to 30 psi on the rear. I run 32-35 on the rear when bob tail


I usta have the Ford shops adjust down my F250s. Idk what you'd adjust on a 350 though, since they are just an information system with no low pressure threshold?
That said, I agree with low rear tire pressures running empty.
But about 5 years ago, something changed and dealers can't /won't adjust them anymore.
I know definitively, FCA's diagnostic software removed the ability to adjust. Only means now I'ma ware of is aftermarket programmers/diagnostics like Autel.

ShinerBock

LVTX

Senior Member

Joined: 02/22/2015

View Profile



Posted: 08/18/21 03:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

IdaD wrote:


Same on my Ram. Only problem with it is I get the idiot light all winter because I drop my rear tires to around 60. Suffering a quarter inch idiot light and a warning ding at startup isn't the end of the world, though.


Buy a Bluetooth OBD reader that will pair with your phone. I have OBDLINK MX, but most will work.

Buy the AlfaOBD app on your phone.

Get your 4 digit key code(the one for your key fobs) from the dealer parts/service department. You may have to show proof of ownership.

Use AlfaOBD to set the TPMS to whatever threshold you want and then reset the body control module with the key code. No more light until you reach the threshold you set it at. You can also code in some other things on your truck or any Mopar vehicle as well depending on your make/model/year.

I can PM you my personal phone number if you need help with the process.


2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Highland Ridge Silverstar 378RBS

blt2ski

Kirkland, Wa

Moderator

Joined: 03/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 06:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sounds like what happened when I got new tires. But drivers side were reversed! Had 50 in front, 35 in the rear perbtpms. When it was 50 rear 35 front.
Then read what it took to fix the issue. PITA to say it lightly. A week later one of my son's and I put a rear helper lift spring, new shocks on the rear. I swapped tires front to rear. All is good now after adjusting the tires.
I'm not running much less than 30 in the new meats, that has not set any codes. Nor has a few times on colder mornings when they dip to 27-28 psi until it warms up

Marty


92 Navistar dump truck, 7.3L 7 sp, 4.33 gears with a Detroit no spin
2014 Chevy 1500 Dual cab 4x4
92 Red-e-haul 12K equipment trailer

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

 > Stupid TPMS!!
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.