Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Why won’t my Champion C46540 generator run the microwave?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Why won’t my Champion C46540 generator run the microwave?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 01/05/22 11:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

tonyclifton wrote:



My microwave is an inverter style, or at least says so on the front.


If this is an inverter MW, try lowering your power level setting on the MW.

Inverter MWs use a switching power supply instead of a transformer to power the magnetron tube. The advantage is they can simply reduce the voltage going to the magnetron which reduces the power drawn from the AC mains.

This is different from non inverter style MWs which had a big heavy transformer which the voltage to the magnetron could not be reduced and what was done for lower power levels was to turn on and off the magnetron in bursts (Full on then off, full on then off), changing the amount of time on verses the amount of time off.

The downside of lowering the power level is it will act like a lower wattage MW and take much longer to heat things up.

Try half power then work your way up towards 100%, you might find that 70%-80% may work OK.

Barring all that, if you are looking for a replacement gen, your going to need to get at least a 5,000W 120/240V gen and that is the absolute bare bottom which would supply 20.8A on each 120V leg which just may be enough to run your MW as wired now.

Personally, I would recommend for whole house setup, 6,500W would be a much better setup which would not require as much load managing Basically giving you 27A per 120V leg..

I run a 9000W gen on my whole home backup gen which at first I thought was overkill, but it handles my deep water well pump plus other high draw items at the same time very well.

The downside to bigger is they use more fuel and they are one heck of a lot noisier.

2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/05/22 11:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I performed one more test before I switched back over. I replaced the 600W pot (590 something measured) with a 1140W measured space heater on L2.

MW & Heater ON, L2-122.4V 59.2Hz
I didn't bother measuring L1


2011 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCab Max Tow, 2084# Payload, 11,300# Tow,
Timbrens, PullRite SuperGlide 2700 15K
2013 KZ Durango 2857


2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/05/22 01:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer wrote:

2112 wrote:

......
......
You can get a regulated 120V 3500W using the TT30A connector, but ......
Your close, but not quite correct.

When the switch is set to 120V only, both 120V windings are connected in parallel. This means that not only all of the 3500W is available on the 30A RV outlet but the voltage of both windings are fully regulated by the AVR.
First sentence of last paragraph covered that. Maybe it wasn't clear enough? Do I get partial credit for using less words?

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 01/05/22 01:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2112 wrote:

Gdetrailer wrote:

2112 wrote:

......
......
You can get a regulated 120V 3500W using the TT30A connector, but ......
Your close, but not quite correct.

When the switch is set to 120V only, both 120V windings are connected in parallel. This means that not only all of the 3500W is available on the 30A RV outlet but the voltage of both windings are fully regulated by the AVR.
First sentence of last paragraph covered that. Maybe it wasn't clear enough? Do I get partial credit for using less words?


No credit for way too many words in the post of yours I quoted, partial credit for the nice diagram though [emoticon]

And, yeah, the OP is not the first or last to get bit by this 120/240 combo thing..

2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/05/22 04:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer wrote:

... partial credit for the nice diagram though
Thanks
I missed one orange line and didn't bother correcting it. I left a switch blowing in the breeze. I got the point across without it

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/05/22 06:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I do not see a switch on this genset to change voltage ouputs. Only switches are the circuit breaker push buttons.
Genset manual


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/06/22 10:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

I do not see a switch on this genset to change voltage ouputs. Only switches are the circuit breaker push buttons.
Genset manual
Toggle switch, item 58 on the parts list

[image]

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/06/22 10:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Interesting it is shown in parts but not shown in the control panel. It is also not the the operational control panel information.
2112: where did you find photo you posted?

2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 01/06/22 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

2112: where did you find photo you posted?
From the cover page of the manual you provided. I enlarged it. Open the manual. That picture

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/06/22 04:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I must be blind in that eye! Thanks. Wonder why I didn;\'t see it farther in manual, must be blind in that eye! You would think that it would show on page 6.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Why won’t my Champion C46540 generator run the microwave?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.