Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Data Caps Starlink
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Data Caps Starlink

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/07/22 10:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

I hope this won't affect too many folks!

https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/starlin........ta-cap-coming-for-residential-customers/


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/07/22 10:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So far RV service not affected. I'm seeing a lot of these little white antennas in my travels.

* This post was edited 11/07/22 10:41am by 2oldman *

ProjectMon

FL

New Member

Joined: 11/24/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/07/22 12:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Got the notification and went and looked at my traffic statistics on my home router (FIOS). With two adults working from home, two kids watching loads of videos/gaming, and I host some gaming servers like Minecraft, we burned around 100GB last week. It sounds like someone would need to be a huge data hog to reach the point they get de-prioritized. From a quality of service standpoint, it essentially moves the user temporarily from permanent to RV service. I have run two Starlink antennas side by side, one permanent and one RV, my experience was that both were very useable (not as good as fiber but better than cellular data). On average, the RV unit tested out at about 1/2 the download bandwidth and about 2/3 the upload bandwidth of a permanent Starlink installation.


2021 Dutchman Kodiak Ultra-Light 283BHSL
2019 Ram 1500 5.7L 3.92
ProPride 3P

afidel

Cleveland

Senior Member

Joined: 12/23/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/07/22 06:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ProjectMon wrote:

Got the notification and went and looked at my traffic statistics on my home router (FIOS). With two adults working from home, two kids watching loads of videos/gaming, and I host some gaming servers like Minecraft, we burned around 100GB last week. It sounds like someone would need to be a huge data hog to reach the point they get de-prioritized. From a quality of service standpoint, it essentially moves the user temporarily from permanent to RV service. I have run two Starlink antennas side by side, one permanent and one RV, my experience was that both were very useable (not as good as fiber but better than cellular data). On average, the RV unit tested out at about 1/2 the download bandwidth and about 2/3 the upload bandwidth of a permanent Starlink installation.


My kids managed to use >100GB in one day, this week, the last week we've used 378GB risk and that wasn't a particularly big week, during the pandemic I think our highest month was 3.5TB. We're fortunate enough to have uncapped cable, but I'm sure once it's just the wife and I on the road the Starlink speeds will be fine, just need enough to stream one show or do one video conference.


2019 Dutchman Kodiak 293RLSL
2015 GMC 1500 Sierra 4x4 5.3 3.42 full bed
Equalizer 10k WDH


valhalla360

No paticular place.

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/08/22 01:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A lot of landline ISPs have caps at a similar level.

Unless you are a real data hog, it's a non-issue. If you are running 3-4 TVs at 4k resolution 10-12hr per day, sure, you will blow thru the data cap but with a little common sense, you shouldn't.

Keep in mind, you may want to look at using it smart. Cloud backups can be set for late night (which doesn't count toward the limit). Also, add on devices like firestick, may keep running if you simply turn off the monitor but leave the stick on and running.


Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV


ProjectMon

FL

New Member

Joined: 11/24/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/08/22 05:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

afidel wrote:


My kids managed to use >100GB in one day, this week, the last week we've used 378GB risk and that wasn't a particularly big week, during the pandemic I think our highest month was 3.5TB. We're fortunate enough to have uncapped cable, but I'm sure once it's just the wife and I on the road the Starlink speeds will be fine, just need enough to stream one show or do one video conference.


That is truly an amazing amount of data! I used to build large chunks of the Internet and huge data centers and you are passing more data than some of the data centers used... Your home usage is definitely not the use case for Starlink! Any chance you have looked at your traffic flows to make sure that is all you and not someone who has hacked some of your machines?

afidel

Cleveland

Senior Member

Joined: 12/23/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/08/22 07:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ProjectMon wrote:

afidel wrote:


My kids managed to use >100GB in one day, this week, the last week we've used 378GB risk and that wasn't a particularly big week, during the pandemic I think our highest month was 3.5TB. We're fortunate enough to have uncapped cable, but I'm sure once it's just the wife and I on the road the Starlink speeds will be fine, just need enough to stream one show or do one video conference.


That is truly an amazing amount of data! I used to build large chunks of the Internet and huge data centers and you are passing more data than some of the data centers used... Your home usage is definitely not the use case for Starlink! Any chance you have looked at your traffic flows to make sure that is all you and not someone who has hacked some of your machines?

Yup, I know where the data is going, my router has breakdowns by protocol and destination and it's all legitimate traffic. Game updates, twitch streaming, etc.

1492

Arlington, VA

Moderator

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 11/08/22 08:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Monthly data allowance of 1TB sounds more than enough for most subscribers.

I've never exceeding even close to 500GB in a month. Even-though, my wireless plan has no data caps.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/08/22 02:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm a single user. The most I ever have used is 120 gb in one month. I use 2 cell phones, one with Bell (50 gigs, then throttled to 0.54) and one with Sasktel (30 gigs, then throttled to 2 m/s)

Speed on Bell is 25 m/s down; in late afternoon that drops to 6.5 down and 8.2 up.

Speed on Sasktel is as much as 90 m/s down; currently 21 m/s and 10 up.


I find that on 2 m/s I can do pretty much anything I want. Even on the 0.54 I can watch netflix.

* This post was edited 11/08/22 02:41pm by pianotuna *

2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/08/22 03:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

84/4 today.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Data Caps Starlink
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2023 CWI, Inc. © 2023 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.